Department of Philosophy

Quote of the Day

To be a national leader in transforming lives through an innovative, rigorous, and compassionate - approach to education.

Department of Philosophy


General stream introduced in1964
Honours stream introduced in1995

Srl NameQualification DesignationSpecialization Experience (Years)
1Dr.Shampa Bhattacharyya(Bagchi)M.Phil, Ph.D, SLETAssociate Professor Philosophy of Mind19
2Dr.Shampa Das(Mondal)M.Phil, Ph.D, NET, Diploma in PsychotherapyAssociate ProfessorPhilosophy of Language, Psychotherapy and Counselling17
3Dr.Piyali Ghosh DastiderM.Phil, Ph.D, SLET, Certificate Course on PsychotherapyAssociate ProfessorFamily and Corporate counselling19

Departmental Highlights
Dedicated and efficient faculty members.
Two faculty members Dr. Shampa Das (Mondol) and Dr. Piyali Ghosh Dastidar are psychotherapists and counsellors.
Special lecture programmes with eminent academicians are organized regularly.
Since 2008 the eminent academicians who give lectures on various aspects of Philosophy are: Dr. Madhabendra Nath Mitra, Dr. Soumitra Basu, Dr. Dikshit Gupta, Dr. Kumar Mitra, Dr. Sabita Samanta, Dr. Aditi Dasgupta, Dr. Atreyee Mukherjee.
Regular career counselling guidance is provided to students.
Faculty members and students enthusiastically participate in various extension programmes like career- awareness programme organised by the Career Counselling cell (Co-ordinator: Dr. Piyali Ghosh Dastidar) in 2012-13 and in a one- day workshop on self -defence in women on 08.02.2014.
Dr. Piyali Ghosh Dastider is voluntarily involved in student counselling in collaboration with Centre for Counselling Services and Studies in Self-Development, Jadavpur University.
Amply stocked library with over 2500 books.
Puja Rudra a department student was awarded in Panel discussion on Swami Vivekanada in 2014 and "UDAYAN SHALINI FELLOWSHIP OF GIRLS FOR COLLEGE LEVEL during 2011-2012."

Academic Calender 2016-17